District Administration of east Sikkim is headed by District Collector and District Magistrate. He is responsible for monitory and Supervision of all the various government Department & Organizations situated in the East District. The office of District Collector & Magistrate is known as District Administrative Centre (DAC) or District Collectorate. 
District Collectorate of East Sikkim houses besides office of District Collector several other offices including Superintendent of Police; Additional District Collector (Development), SRDA, Pay and Accounts office etc.
Beside the Collectorate, DAC complex also houses the Zilla Panchayat Building. The District Court for North and east District are also situated in the same complex.

The District Collector & District Magistrate

 Name : Tushar G Nikhare, IAS

Tele No. : 03592-284444

Roles & Responsibility :

  • Overall in charge of the District and Head of Administration
  • Sachiva, Zilla Panchayat, East District
  • Chairman, District Consumer Protection Council
  • Chairman, District Level Relief Committee
  • Chairman, National Rural Health Mission
  • Chairman, District TB Control Society
  • Chairman, District Cancer Control Programme
  • Chairman, District Disaster Management Committee
  • Chairman, Agricultural Technology Management Agency
  • Chairman , Prime Ministers Employment Generation Programme
  • President, JNMIL (Blind School), Boomtar, Namchi
  • Chairman, District Coordination Committee
  • Chairman, District Consultative Committee, (Lead Bank)
  • Chairman, Sarva Sikshya Abhiyan
  • Chairperson in District Level-The Scheduled Tribes and Other Traditional Forest Dwellers (Recognition of Forest Rights) Act, 2006
  • Chairman, District Level Vigilance and Monitoring Committee under Rule 16 & 17 of SC/ST (Prevention of Atrocities) Rules, 1995
  • Certificate Officer, Sikkim Public Demand Recovery Act, 2006
  • To exercise powers conferred by sub-section(1) of Section 21 of Sikkim Anti Drugs Act, 2005
  • District Appropriate Authority – the Pre-natal Diagnostic Techniques (Regulation and Prevention of Misuse) Act, 1994
  • To deal with provisions under sub-section(5) of Section 68 of the Electricity Act, 2003
  • Authorized Officer – the Cable Television Network (Regulation) Act, 1995
  • Executive Authorities – the Employment of Manual Scavengers and Construction of Dry Latrines (Prohibition) Act, 1993
  • Member in District Level Committee to deal with issues relating to infrastructure of Subordinate Courts at District

The Additional District Magistrate/Additional District Collector (HQ) 

 Name :  Hemant Rai

Tele No. : 03592-284546

Mobile : 7407896459

Roles & Responsibility :

  • 1. C.O.I of Gangtok Sub-Division.
  • 2. Administration of the Collectorate and D.A.C ( including Parking of D.A.C)
  • 3. NOCs, Permission and License.
  • 4. Census and N.P.R.
  • 5. Election.
  • 6. Right To Information (S.P.I.O)
  • 7. Communication with Department of State Government.
  • 8. Protocol.
  • 9. DBT/DCT.
  • 10. Legal matters excluding Explosive Act) including Arms Act and monitoring of cases in other courts.
  • 11. Citizenship Certificate.
  • 12. L.L.C.
  • 13. Women issues and people with special abilities, Spastic Society.
  • 14. Communication with the Government Of India Organizations.
  • 15. Nathula Pass.
  • 16. Passport Veriffication.

The Sub-Divisional Magistrate (East)

Name :Robin Pd Sewa

Mobile : 7908110356

The Sub-Divisional Magistrate (Gangtok)

 Name : Tshering Bhutia

Mobile : 9593370533

Important Officers

Important Officers in District Collectorate East Sikkim
Sl No Designation Name Phone No.
01 District Collector Ragul k, IAS 9775658555
02 Addl. District Collector (E) Tushar G Nikhare 9870234897
03 Addl. District Collector (Adm) Hemant Rai 7407896459
04 Addl. District Collector (Dev Gangtok) Tenzing D Denzongpa 9733340157
05 Addl. District Collector (Dev Pakyong) Radha Pradhan 9735876022
06 Sub-Divisional Magistrate (Gtk) Tshering Bhutia 9593370533
07 Sub-Divisional Magistrate, HQ Robin Pd Sewa 7908110356
08 Sr AO, Collectorate, East Narayan P Sharma 7430908279
09 Revenue Officer (AD-I) Gyan Bahadur Subba 9434338814
10 Revenue Officer (AD-II) Karma Lodey Bhutia 9593789437
11 PS to DC Sonam Tamang 9434213854
12 District Informatic Officer(NIC) Sabita Choudhary 9800013330
13 District Project Officer(Disaster Management) Sonam W. Lepcha 9434211641
14 Training Officer(Disaster Management) Bijayata Kharel 9734152432


Police Officers
Sl No Designation Name Phone No.


Superintendent of Police, East

Dr. Shiva Prasad Yellasiri, IPS

(03592) 284416(O)


Addl. SP, East

Sonam Detchu Bhutia